​​Copyright © Dani Cojo. All rights reserved. 

Reviews





































Dani Cojo


I fell for this story ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
           "As someone who's been entranced with the premise of this story since its inception, I'm so, so pleased to see it in in all its finished glory. 
           The characterization is diverse, and the conflicts this inevitably begins is delicious to read. I couldn't put it down when I first read it; I finished 
           the whole book in one sitting!" 

                                                                                                                                                                                       - Kaylen Rayne (Aug 23, 2015​)

                                                                                                                                                                                                               Review on Inkitt


​A must read! ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

           "I enjoyed this book very much. The characters are so well defined that you really get invested in them. I was switching sides throughout                  the book! The detailed descriptions of the locations give you a clear visual and make you feel like you're actually there. The story keeps                    moving and throws in a couple of surprises. I couldn't stop reading!"

                                                                                                                                                                                           - Dee Purple (Aug 24, 2015)

                                                                                                                                                                                                               Review on Inkitt


An enjoyable ride from start to finish ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆
           "I really enjoyed reading this story. The protagonists are super fun to read and the author does a really good job of putting you in the 
           moment with everything. For the entire time that I was reading, I felt like I really was in every location, with every moment, and feeling 
           everything that the characters felt. The pacing was perfectly done and the amount of imagery and allusion to mythology and religion and   
           just the fresh take on a lot of things was really fun. I would have liked to see just a bit more action and adventure in the story, but honestly, 
           that comes down to my own personal preference. I would absolutely recommend giving this story the time to read, you definitely won't be 
           disappointed" 

                                                                                                                                                                                         - Hidden Cube (Aug 25, 2015)

                                                                                                                                                                                                               Review on Inkitt


Piqued My Interest ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
           "While the forbidden love concept is an old one, and while there have been variations involving angels and demons, I find this one to be 
           quite refreshing. After all, it isn't always about coming up with something that's never been done before--that would be impossible, really. 
           It's about creating something that, while it holds familiar concepts, has a fresher perspective on those same concepts; a life of its own 
           amidst the sea of other tales like it. :) You have accomplished this, I believe. I am eager to read more, and as I do, more will be added to 
           the review. Best of luck in the Wanderlust competition."

           Edit: "Continuing on after reading fifteen chapters. :) With other forms of Mythos being incorporated into this story of angels and demons, 
           I find myself more and more intrigued with this world you've created--especially when it comes to Greek and Egyptian Mythology (two of 
           my favourites). I look forward to reading more of this story, and seeing just what happens; will Regal succeed in making Keir fall, or will Keir
           succeed in making him ascend? Even as far into the story as I am, I can't tell which way it will go--if either--and that's excellent. It means
           you're keeping your readership on their toes."

           Edit: "Now that I've officially finished reading the story, I can say with all certainty it is the kind of book I would love to see on my shelf. Now   
           on to the critique: there are aspects that could be improved upon. One minor complaint I have is the repetition. There were points where
           you stated the same thing in almost the exact same way within a single paragraph. Other issues I came across were of the technical variety            -- mostly in the form of typos, though there was the odd misspelling and wrongly placed word, as well. There were some issues -- in
           particular -- where you jumped back and forth between present and past tense. In [the final chapters] there [were] continuity errors. Now,     
           critique aside, I really did enjoy this story, and I really, really hope that there's a sequel, because I cannot believe it ends, there. :)" 
                                                                                                                                                                                   - Shannon Rohrer (Aug 25, 2015)

                                                                                                                                                                                                               Review on Inkitt

 

Couldn't put it down! ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
           "Excellent work, very intriguing, well thought out characters! I got caught up in it and time flew. Can't wait for the next installment! Ms. Cojo

           has an excellent imagination and her timing of events is very fluid."

                                                                                                                                                                                   - Colleen Kidd Dyer (Sep 2, 2015)

                                                                                                                                                                                                               Review on Inkitt


Beauty in The Downfall (On-Going Review) ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
              "Though I'm only five chapters into this, it has absolutely captured my attention with its prowess. One parts classic love story and diverse, 
              well-researched fantasy, this bad boy hooks you from the get-go and keeps you reading! The characters are all fantastic and organic, 
              especially the two leads in Regal and Keir, whose perspectives are both used to great effect to guide the story. That dual-perspective is a 
              difficult task for many authors, but adds a lot of character to this story. The rest of the world is populated with rich cast, drawing from 
              mythology and religion in ways both creative and believable. Writing-wise, this is very solid and well-edited! I spotted a missing comma or 
              two, but that's to be expected with any manuscript. The scenes of romance and action were written in equally compelling measure, and 
              held my attention without a problem, There are some places, particularly where backstory comes in, where the dialogue and narrative 
              repeat itself, but this can easily be edited. A worthy piece for anyone to read, and come back to! I certainly know I'll be returning for more. 
              (P.S, really and honestly loved reading your review to yourself. That's a really smart idea, and it was interesting to see your perspective on               your own process)"

                                                                                                                                                                                       - Caitlin E. Jones (Sep 4, 2015)

                                                                                                                                                                                                               Review on Inkitt


Loved it and want more! ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
           "Right from the beginning, the story had me hooked. The beginning had me curious about what was going on, then hit with that love that 
           was never meant to begin. That toppled with the flashback that came immediately after had me unable to put the book down. The character
           building, the flow, the drama, the twists! All of it had me on the edge of my seat, though I almost screamed at the end. Both from happiness

           and fury at being unable to devour the next book. Oh, almost forgot! When I saw that it was about an angel and demon. Hadn't been          

           expecting many other mythical creatures, thank you very much for not only disproving that! But, also breathing a life into the mythos you put

           in the story. As well as what you did with Gloria/God and religions, I lived it very much! I am not one for grammar or sentence structures,

           they are both things that are hard for me to do. Far as I could tell, except in a couple of sentences, it felt like it was already published. This

           story is something I will be recommending to everyone I can think to recommend too. I will also be buying the book to reread until the pages            fall from the cover. When it gets published, not if but when this book gets published. I am that confident that this story deserves to get

           published"

                                                                                                                                                                                               - Rosefirst (Sep 28, 2015​)

                                                                                                                                                                                                               Review on Inkitt

 

Definitely Don't Pass This One! ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
           "As someone who got to help proofread/edit the original "story", I got to see all the characters and the plot in its raw form. What Dani was 
           able to turn that raw form in to, is absolutely amazing. The plot line is different, the characters are dynamic, and the writing style is very 
           comfortable to read. I definitely think this one deserves to be published, and for the world of Mythos to be exposed! <3<3" 
                                                                                                                                                                                                - Nanchey (Oct 23, 2015)

                                                                                                                                                                                                               Review on Inkitt


An Amazing Read ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
              "This was the first story I read on inkitt and I have to say this has put my expectations very high! I loved this story and I was very sad to

              finish reading it but it has been a great journey. The characters were put together very well and I kept sympathising with both the main

              leads Keir and Regal. I love these kind of stories with the fantasy element and about angels and demons so this was a perfect read. :) I

              can't wait for the sequel!"

                                                                                                                                                                                          - Hamzter678 (Jan 29, 2016)

                                                                                                                                                                                                               Review on Inkitt


I've Been Sitting Here for 4 Hours  ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
              "Okay so I just read the whole thing in one sitting. I'm also crying. Reading this story was honestly a life-changing experience for me. It

              was beautiful, the character's were amazing, the writing was fantastic-- oh man, I've never wanted to applaud a story so much! The only

              flaw I could really find was the occasional spelling mistake, but even then those were easily overlooked. Now if you'll excuse me I'm gonna

              go read the whole thing again"

                                                                                                                                                                                  - Elf_Lord_Elphias (Feb 21, 2016)

                                                                                                                                                                                                               Review on Inkitt


An Incredible Read!  ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

              ​"I have really enjoyed your story, it drew me in and kept me wanting more! The characters are really well made and you can sympathise

              with both the protagonists! I have always enjoyed the fantasy genre, so I am glad I have found another great read I can go back to. This

              was really emotional and even made me cry at points! Thank you for creating this epic work and I hope that you continue making more fab               stories!"

                                                                                                                                                                                             - Hershey49 (Apr 17, 2016)

                                                                                                                                                                                                               Review on Inkitt


Well Worth It!  ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

              "I love angel/demon stories and read them every chance I get. This one was different and well worth the time to read. I am looking forward

              ​to the chapters to come."

                                                                                                                                                                                                        - J0ra (Jul 29, 2016)

                                                                                                                                                                                                               Review on Inkitt


Five Stars All Around ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

              ​              ​              ​             ​​              ​              ​              ​             ​​              ​              ​              ​             ​​              ​    - Marta Jagusiak (Aug 2, 2016)

                                                                                                                                                                                                               Review on Inkitt


The Art of Falling ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
              "I'm not very far into it but very interesting read. Cant wait to read more but its hard to read from desk top computer."
                                                                                                                                                                                          - Linda Boman (Aug 3, 2016)

                                                                                                                                                                                                               Review on Inkitt


Supposed to Be Sleeping ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

              ​"But how could I? I couldn't put this down. The strength of plot and characters are what I want to see the most in a story and this

              ​delivered. The concept is interesting, The pacing is well-done and it's written in a way that makes it so easy to continue on. I want to be

              ​more detailed on what I liked about this-- the biggest thing is probably the characters and their development- well-paced, believable, and

              ​fascinating. Supporting characters fulfilled their roles well while not being over-done. I loved how easily I could paint a picture of the

              ​settings and characters too. Also, shout out to Michigan (Detroiter here)! I've been to the Tahquamenon Falls myself, it's wonderful. Now I

              ​can't stay awake any longer, but I hope there's a continuation for the story so much- I was actually caught off guard that ​it had ended. I

              ​eagerly await this novel's publishing as I have no doubt it will be."

                                                                                                                                                                                                    - RinYuu (Aug 7, 2016)

                                                                                                                                                                                                               Review on Inkitt


Demonic Art and Angelic Politics ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

              ​"This is an entire world, set up with species-specific traits, a history that is revealed in reasonable, digestible portions, and political

              ​maneuverings that leave me with questions. The back story that was revealed in tantalizing tidbits makes me want to read what comes

              ​next at least as much as the romance that is the primary advertised plot line. The story made me care about the characters and their

              ​worlds, and mixed movement and action with exposition very smoothly. High marks for the art of writing!


              ​I give average marks for the technical aspect because the seasonal setting got confused a bit, there were some jumbled sentences that

              ​forced me out of the fantasy to parse their intent, and the lunar cycle that was so key to the timeline was mishandled. Starting with an

              ​Earthly month's deadline at the dark moon puts a full moon in the middle of the timeline and necessitates a waning moon as the deadline

              ​approaches. I really liked the idea of the demon taking power from darkness such that the full moon's light weakened him, so it was jarring

              ​when a stray reference to a return of the full moon was made only four days after it had already happened.


              ​Thank you for the image of an ​angel shielding a demon from sunlight by shadowing him with his wings. That will stick with me for a while.

              ​Well done!"

                                                                                                                                                                                      - ElleStarrunner (Aug 21, 2016)

                                                                                                                                                                                                               Review on Inkitt


Read Within the Day ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

              "I just finished reading this story and I would like to say that it was fantastic. I cannot wait to read the sequel and see what happens. 


              Okay, so now the more serious review. The beginning was good... not great. Seemed a little rushed so that you could get to the main

              plot... which is understandable. With that said, after you got past the part where they bonded the story picked up speed, interest, and was

              captivating from that point on. I love your writing style and this is such a unique idea. I love this genre to death and this is the first time that

              I have seen angels and demons play out the way you wrote it. I also appreciated while Kier's love for Regal drove the plot, in my opinion it

              was more focused on the personal journey of both. Which I liked, also the ending was not easy to predict... which I loved. The way that

              you showed that even Heaven was slightly corrupt in the end was great. If I'm not mistaken Kier was promoted for Heaven to try to keep

              him in check... right? Regal is a great dynamic character who is unique enough to not be cliche to read. Again, I know that it will probably

              take some time but I am eagerly awaiting the sequel to this great story.


              One last thing, the continuity was pretty solid except for one or two instances that had to do with the moon? Maybe it's just me, but I would

              like to see it more clearly defined and I think that you might have made a mistake when you mentioned one one of the phases. Also, when

              you are having Regal go to Nicks hotel room you say that the original number is 413 but when he gets there it is a number like 294?

              Those are the only spots that really stood out to me and took me out of the story. Regardless, It was still fantastic over all and I will be

              eagerly awaiting for when it gets published officially."

                                                                                                                                                                                      - Alicea Hoffman (June 5, 2017)

                                                                                                                                                                                                               Review on Inkitt


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it! ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

              Can’t wait for the next book! 😱

                                                                                                                                                                                              - Nancy (January 20, 2018)
                                                                                                                                                                                                           Review on Amazon


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it! ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
              I would definitely recommend this book. It was a great read that had me on the edge of my seat at times. I’m waiting on the next book!


                                                                                                                                                                           - Amazon Customer (January 23, 2018)
                                                                                                                                                                                                           Review on Amazon


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it! ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

              The Art of Falling is a fun take on good versus evil, heaven versus hell, and two unwitting lovers in a battle for their souls. This book's got

              enough familiarity to entice you, and plenty of new steps to make it refreshing and interesting. I can't wait for the next one!


                                                                                                                                                                                              - Kaylen (February 3, 2018)
                                                                                                                                                                                                           Review on Amazon


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it! ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

              A great read from start to finish! Cojo not only establishes their own unique mythos and weaves it into a compelling story of strength of will

              and love. It is also refreshing to see a piece of LGBT+ inspired literature that doesn't rely on orientation play as a propelling factor behind

              drama and story progression. The characters are who they are, rounded and interesting! I cannot wait for the next installment!


                                                                                                                                                                                                   - Haydn (June 18, 2018)
                                                                                                                                                                                                           Review on Amazon